Gold Medal Winners:

Christian Friedrich Schönbein Awards
List of Gold Medal of Honour Winners: 

Below is the list of the previous winners of the Christian Friedrich Schönbein Gold Medal of Honour award. The winners have received this award for an outstanding contribution to the advancement of science and technology; normally for a lifetime of work. For example, key stakeholders who have not only contributed for many years, but have also achieved a high level of recognition within the community.

We congratulate all winners of the Gold Medal of Honour, and thank them again for their enormous efforts to improve and advance technology in their chosen scientific field.

1994: Brian Steel, ICL, United Kingdom (+)
1996: Hans-Heinrich Möbius, Greifswalder Universität, Germany (+)
1998: Helmut Tannenberger, Batelle Institute/Laboratories Geneva, CSEM, Switzerland
2000: Arnold O. Isenberg, Westinghouse Electric Corporation, USA
2001: Manfred Waidhas, Siemens AG, Germany
2002: Masayuki Dokiya, Yokohama National University, Japan (+)
2003: Jürgen Garche, ZSW, Germany
2004: John A. Kilner, ICL, United Kingdom
2005: John Van Zee, Univ of Alabama, University of South Carolina, USA
2006: Subhash Singhal, Siemens Westinghouse, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA
2008: Mogens B. Mogensen, DTU, Denmark
2009: Günther G. Scherer, PSI Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland
2010: Ulf Bossel, BBC Baden, Founder of the European Fuel Cell Forum, Switzerland
2011: Claude Lamy, University of Poitiers, France
2012: Bert Rietveld, Energy Research Centre of the Netherlands
2013: Wolf Vielstich, Bonn University, Germany
2014: Ellen Evers-Tiffée, KIT, Germany
2015: Andrei Kulikovsky, FZJ Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
2016: John TS Irvine, Uni of St Andrews, UK
2017: Hubert A. Gasteiger, Technical University of Munich, Germany
2018: Harumi YokokawaThe University of Tokyo, Japan
2019: Thomas J. Schmidt, PSI Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland
2020: Ludger Blum, FZJ Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany
2021: Peter Strasser, TU Berlin, Germany
2022: Jürgen Fleig, TU Wien, Austria
2023: Deborah JonesCNRS Montpellier, France
2024: Nigel Brandon, Imperial College London, United Kingdom

202x: ................... send your suggestion to